Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | December 18, 2007

Seeds…wishing…wanting

10yrs1.jpg 10 years-Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds

I just received my heirloom seed catalogue from Baker Creek (www.rareseeds.com).  It seems as though I just picked the last of the tomatoes and now the snow is falling.  How beautiful to receive a catalogue to take me back into the summer days of warmth and food right off the vine!

This puts me in the mind of Barbara Kingsolver.  Her book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (http://www.animalvegetablemiracle.com/  ) was a delight to take me through the summer months, comparing my garden to hers,  (Huge differences, but the essence was similar!)  Words from her book stuck out to me when she described her joy at receiving the seed catalogue in December.  I sense that joy as I begin to look at all of the choices of seeds, flowers and herbs.  To plant a seed…to change the future.

What brings you joy?

Responses

  1. Thinking about planting my garden as well. . . I have never had an early spring garden and am hoping for many a lettuce leaf!

    ANYTHING written by Barbara Kingsolver brings me joy. Anything. Could be her to do list, and I would enjoy it.

  2. Actually, snow brings me great happiness. And winter. I sometimes think I have the opposite of seasonal affective disorder, but that’s not really true. I just love all seasons and winter especially. But I’m a big gardener so I look forward to spring (and heirloom seeds} as well.

  3. Hey Jen…would love to hear more about your garden. How did it go last year?
    s

  4. Hi Becky,
    Come on up here to Michigan! We have loads of snow and sledding is in full swing:) The snow is beautiful, I agree. I had a post a while back and received an answer similar to yours. A friend who LOVES winter and enjoys the winter “light”. Beautiful…
    Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

