Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | January 9, 2008

What song is in your head right now?

5006221.jpg

Always there is a song in my head…sometimes one I love, but more often one that is slightly annoying…ever have that?

Here are the songs that are or were in my head today:
Jordan Sparks-Tattoo
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXdWQ80lKxQ
Bubbly-Colbie Caillat
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PWfB4lurT4
Midnight Blue-Melissan Manchester
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGV4QflOOOY
Unchained Melody-Righteous Brothers
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-idDbIfGvw
Umbrella-Rihanna
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wr0uQrpkwZ4
Once in a Lifetime-Talking Heads
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYbUCvz1LYE

Which do I like and which are annoying…?  Hmmm
Take a day and jot down each song that comes into you head.  What story does this tell you about your life?

Responses

  1. Great. As soon as I read the title of your blog entry, Wham’s “Wake Me Up Before Yo Go Go” came into my head. Thanks a lot.

  2. You are very welcome…:) Always here to help!
    Wham…cause I’m not plannin’ on goin’ solo…
    s

  3. Hi Susan, So this is your blog? Beautiful!
    Kindermusik convention Key Note speaker Daniel J. Levitin’s book “This Is Your Brain on Music”…cool book describes those songs that get STUCK in your head:they are called ear worms. Nice. And to get them out you have to stick a different song (and potential ear worm) in there! Usually ear worms are short parts of songs.

    Right now I’ve got “Mighty Pretty Motion Toodala!” stuck in my head! And that one just recently replaced “Tinga Layo, Run Little Donkey, Run”

    That’s OK. Because I can see the children dancing too.
    Peace to you. Love the blog.
    Yvette

  4. Oh GREAT. Now I have that “Umbrella, ella, ella, ella, ella” song in my head. I was enjoying Sweet Child ‘O Mine all morning. Thanks.

    Music is a HUGE part of our lives. I have this new ipod, my husband had to help me load it (I’m technologically challenged), and I LOVE it. Every single song brings a memory to me, a feeling, a state of mind. I hear about NPR, other talk radio stations, but just can’t pass up the time to listen to music in order to introduce myself to these entities. It’s not that I’m not interested in what they have to say, but music is such a part of my life, I can’t give up the small moments I have to listen to it without distraction. Sometimes my favorite part of the day is the drive home from work, listening to the radio or music I’ve brought with me. Just starting to get into Brazilian and African music – it really draws me in.

    XO –

  5. Love it!!! Send along some Brazilian and African groups to me when you can:)
    s

  6. Well, what a timely topic! I completed a recital with a former student-now a viola performer-at the Tuesday Musicale. We played for almost an hour and included works by Bach, Hummel, Bloch, and Beethoven. After weeks of hours of practice, the Bach and Bloch were in my head continuously. I can relate to having annoying songs too though. We did Mr. Grinch at school and that is not at all pleasant to have for weeks at a time. Once a long time ago, I tried recording the song that I was aware of upon awakening each day. Usually it is something that I am working on either at the piano, at school or with chorale. I only wish I hadn’t read the entry with Tingalayo in it. Rats…there goes the Bach.

  7. Avec Charles Aznavour

  8. Found it!!!

    Wow! he has fabulous passion!
    s

  9. Interesting how we can “catch” songs from one another like yawns. But when I do not know the song…it is just not there…I am compelled to look it up!
    s


Leave a Reply

Categories

