Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | January 17, 2008

Blue in the winter

thumb_blueberries1.jpg
http://www.edpostphotography.com/ This photo is by Judge Ed Post…check out his site of beautiful nature photographs!)

Saw blueberries in a magazine the other day.  I was just flipping through the pages while waiting for water to boil for dinner.   Then I remembered there were summer bluberries in the freezer:)

This summer, as usual, my husband and my sons gathered blueberries.  Then, my husband laid them out on trays and froze them to enjoy this winter.  What a treat! 

I also was taught by a wonderful friend how to can peaches…yummmmmm.  Not only do they look beautiful in the jars, the savory taste lingers all winter long.

So as the winter buries us in snow and cold, we can be reminded of the summer and the wonderful tastes of the bounty.  I do love the winter snow…but having a bit of summer to savor is a touch of wonder for me.

Responses

  1. I love the picture of the blueberries – I’m going to freeze them this summer, what a great idea. I remember picking blueberries with my grandparents as a child – wild blueberries out in the woods. I would sit and eat all I could pick, my grandmother would always point me in the direction of the juiciest patches, and toward the end of the day my teeth would be blue. Some were very tart! Blueberry pie is my favorite pie, probably my third favorite dessert (behind cheesecake and good old chocolate chip cookies). Thanks for the memory – and the idea! There are many fruits that are in season during the winter – have you tried a pummelo? They can be grapefruit-like, or sweeter, depending on their ripeness. If you’re lucky enough to get a sweet one, they’re amazing. I’m going to check out the site for Ed Post’s photography now – you rock.

    D

  2. We used to pick bluberries, raspberries and blackberries too – and then preserve them, making jam and sirup. And blaccurrents from the garden we used to preserve with more suggar and then, in the winter we would put a spoon or two in a herbal tea – delicous. My mum still cans apricots, apples, plums and makes jam from whatever grows in her garden. It is a lot of work in the summer, though, but such is a tradition in Slovakia. I suppose it is still a bit cheaper and a lot more yummy than a bought ones.

  3. Blueberries, peaches and snow – what could be better on a wintry weekend. I love canning peaches and cherries – they are such a treat.

  4. Hi All:)
    Beautiful comments…sharing in the wonder of nature…and the creative spirit of women. I am enjoying learning about you all here.

    Looking forward to canning more this summer…perhaps we can share techniques then:)
    Susan

  5. here’s a thought on winter. Yesterday I visited my local honey man to restock my pantry with local honey. So, it is the coldest weekend so far and I assumed that the bees hibernate. Wrong! they are busy wiggling around keeping the queen a cozy 90 degrees! How amazing is that?! Oh to be a queen. And in the summer, they keep her cool. Plus, they make honey; enough for them, some to spare for us. There is a taste of summer for my cornbread or toast.
    Becca

  6. Susan, I have been thinking couple of times about “canning” and about cultural differences.As I mentioned in Slovakia and especially under comunist when water, energy, suggar was very cheap and people used to grow everything in their gardens and allotments (or their relatives would), when the summer came it was also a start of canning frenzy. Starting with the cherries in may and finishing with plums and apples in autumn. A lot of work, a lot. Washing jars, picking fruit, cleaning, cutting, cooking, preserving. But it was a cheep way to stock up for a winter and besides, there was not much in a shop really.
    Now it has all changed. The price of groceries has gone up and there is everything in shops, though more expensive… but people have less time as there are more opportunities with open borders for travelling, studying…
    People still preserve, but less than in the past.
    I personally and at the moment not. We are living abroad now. The house is too small to keep any empty jars, the fruit – I would have to buy. But maybe in the future I will dust this tradition of my mum and preserve something and look at it more like another kind of creativity. Now it is more “I can, if I like”, in the past days it was a “must”.

  7. I meant to say ” the prices of energies, water…”

  8. Hello all,
    Love the honey info, Becca! Who is your honey man…like the sound of that!

    Di, let me know when you want to go berry picking this summer!

    Barbara, Do you ever photograph the jars of fruit?

    Red2White, Thank you for sharing a bit of your rich life. I often think of the line between creativity and necessity. The creativity we bring into our lives can truly support us in times of need. Then, when we are overwhelmed with life, I wonder if creativity is seen the same way? Is it leaisure??? or does it lead to more productivity? Wondering on this….

  9. On our last day in Michigan this summer, the boys and I bought 10 pounds of blueberries from a local farm stand. We took them home to Maryland and slowly, over several hours (most of the day and night!) froze them on trays. It is such fun for the boys and me to enjoy our blueberries from the freezer on cold, cold days!

    I have not yet tried canning—but have started with the easy freezer jam. Susan–any interest in having a canning afternoon this summer?

  10. Canning extravaganza! I have several friends who can…and being part of a CSA, should have plenty of extras…tomatoes, peaches…should be available when you are in town, Jen!
    s

  11. Susan, I think you hit the nail…Many of what we call creative activitiess would be necessities in the past:cooking, baking, preserving, gardening,… instead of buying in a supermarket, sewing, knitting, weaving.. instead of buying on the high street. But it is nice, that we have this choice: we don’t have to, we can…. and many of us want.


Leave a Reply

Categories

