Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | January 21, 2008

Sketching at the Gardens

meijer-garden-001.jpglady-3.jpg

I spent some time at Meijer Gardens, (http://www.meijergardens.org/calendar/event.php?id=458 ).  I remembered to bring in a sketch pad!  There was an orchid show on and the smells and colors were wonderful.

I saw a Fern Tree (the first sketch above).  It is like the fiddle fern here where I live, but it is a tree found in Australia.  The fronds curl out in a spiral before they open to branches.  I love spirals and have begun to look for them in nature.  I took a moment to get these spirals on the paper.

I also saw a Lady slipper that had a beautiful shape.  It really looks like a lady’s slipper from …oh…looks like 1500s-1700s?  I was happy that my sketched shape looked similar.

It was calming to be inside with the quiet and the foliage from other worlds.  Next time I will also bring markers or colored pencils to record the colors:)

Leave a Reply

Categories

