Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | April 10, 2008

Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain

After attempting to draw protazoa…I found it difficult to look and draw.  This is really a skill I was barely taught to do growing up.  I drew on my own, but never became proficient…and therefore, it is a great deal of work for me to try to draw an object while observing.

So…after several years…I have pulled back out Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain http://www.amazon.com/Drawing-Right-Side-Brain-Workbook/dp/1585421952/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1207856373&sr=8-4

It is time consuming for me…but I was so excited to draw upside down and create the image above!  My son said…”Mom!  Get that onto your blog!”

And so here it is:)

What small challenges do you give yourself to keep your brain active?

 

Responses

  1. Oh, that is really blog-worth drawing, honestly, well done! I started drawing following this book last summer but stopped at exactly this excercise, drawing upside down…

  2. Susan, I have tagged you with some questions. Please, have a look at my blog. thank you!

  3. Good work. That can be a very helpful book.
    I draw everyday and write at least 100 words. Usually more than 100, usually more than a stickfigure, but if I’m not moving forward at least I’m not falling behind:)

  4. So true! I just wrote today in my journal on the importance of “ritual” for ourselves in our work and lives.
    Thanks for posting!

  5. Well done!!
    I worked through that book a few years ago and it was great!!
    I love you’re rainbowy phosphines too!
    Caroline
    X

  6. Hi Caroline,
    It is a great study…and so helpful to me. It may take me a while to get through the exercises, but I am loving the journey:)
    s

  7. Yes, this is excellent. I guess it just goes to show if you follow Betty’s instructions, you can draw well! I guess I better get to work!


Leave a Reply

Categories

