Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | April 19, 2008

Thoughts from Childhood

 

“Sun Salutation” by Bonnie Herman Zachary

Each morning, while practicing yoga, I try to let my thoughts go and also keep my eyes closed.

But the other morning I opened my eyes, and saw the ceiling.

 (the view upside down:)

I was reminded of times, as a child, where I would sit for hours upside down on the couch and think about what it would be like to walk on the ceiling.   Clear, open space with no furniture..like a wonderful dancers studio!

That thought came back to me as I stood in a yoga pose looking past my legs and up onto the ceiling.

What are memories of wonder that you recall from childhood?

Responses

  1. The only childhood “memories of wonder” that come to mind for me are my wishing I could be like Samantha on “Bewitched” … I always liked to twinkle my nose and think about how wonderful it would be if I could actually make things happen by doing that, lol … and I’d often stare hard at light switches and door knobs trying to make ’em move, heh

    But my first thoughts in coming upon your blog was that it was a “Hanged Man” symbol/message. That card in the Tarot is of a guy hanging upside down from a tree — it can be about a need to have patience and/or to do a 360, encouragement to endeavor to look at things from a completely different perspective. It can also advise to “go with the flow,” as well as an indicator for a need to sacrifice one thing (or belief or person, etc) so as to obtain another. It can represent “enlightenment.”

    It always fascintates me when I see “Tarot cards” in every day life 🙂

    Peace,
    Dove

  2. […] sathya wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptEach morning, while practicing yoga, I try to let my thoughts go and also keep my eyes closed. But the other morning I opened my eyes, and saw the ceiling. (the view upside down. I was reminded of times, as a child, where I would sit … […]

  3. Hi Dove,
    “twitch, twitch” I agree…Sam was a wonderful “witch mom” for all of us:)

    Thank you for your interpretation of the “tarot in everday life”. I think you are right on for where I am in my life right now. Patience is the word I have been meditating on for a few weeks now and I write it in my journal almost daily:)

    LOVE it!!! I am so happy you stopped by to post:)
    susan

  4. I thought it was interesting that this came back to you while in a yoga pose. It reminded me about how all our experiences are in the body and doing yoga unlocks those experiences. Maybe that’s why people get stiff and stingy at about the same rate. There’s all these experiences clogging up the body.

    For some reason I keep thinking about all the times I got hit in the teeth. I had a knack for this when I was a kid. Or my head. I’ll never forget seeing the world upside down when I flew off that skateboard.

  5. A very interesting idea…I think I agree with you. Letting go of the past “muscle memory” or “cell memory” from my own life, or the life I was living as a child, has been so beneficial to me.

    Yoga has truly helped me to release…which leaves room for the new:)

    Yikes on the skateboard! I am watching my own sons do the very same thing! Please keep the teeth! The broken bones are doing me in!
    s


Leave a Reply

Categories

