Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | August 27, 2008

Heron Stories

 

 

 

When my father-in-law, Harry, passed away about 8 years ago, we kept his memory alive through the one thing in nature that he always loved…birds.  There was a heron that would come to my mother-in-law at the spring fed pond where she lived.  She would be reminded of Harry each time. 

She took pictures of the heron.  We all looked for herons during special occasions…and remarkably one would fly by. On a trip to Switzerland where family resides, driving down the road to significant locations we frequented, on other trips…  My parents, who were also close to my in-laws, saw herons, too.  They would call and say they saw a heron and were wondering what might be going on in our lives…usually, it was something important.  

When my mother-in-law was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer 3 years ago, she and two of her sons (one of those sons was my husband) went up to close the family cottage.  On their leaving, they saw movement on a local farm. They looked closer…a field filled with herons!  I am not kidding…hundreds!  It put me in mind of all of the wonderful folktales about birds as spirits.

Just a few weeks ago, we were up at the family cottage.  We went out to take an early morning boat ride and from the picture above, you can see who was there to great us!  We had always seen the herons flying by…but this one was telling us “good-morning”.  We felt extremely blessed…and loved…and watched over.

Here is a site that we love…poems and watercolors from Heron Dance continue to bring us reminders of our wonderful parents…Harry and Genanne…thanks for the love and the visits…

Responses

  1. What a warm and wistful watercolor of words!
    I can feel the connection between your family and the herons.
    The Heron Dance is a wonderful site, too.
    Thanks for sharing these memories with us!

    Mitch

  2. welcomed words from a wonderful writer:)

  3. One of my most cherished childhood memories with my father is of a Great Blue Heron. My parents own a cottage on a lake, and we spent every summer there. One year when I was about 10 yrs old, each morning before the sun had really risen and while there was still fog on the lake, a Great Blue Heron would land on the end of our dock to watch for fish. He would clean his feathers, watch the water, and sometimes stand so still that we swore he was not real. He must have been 5 feet tall, and absolutely beautiful. So every morning that summer my father would wake me up before 5am, and we would sit on the deck together, in the dark, talking quielty, waiting for the heron to arrive. When we could see him flying in from the other side of the lake, our conversation would stop, and I would hold my breath in prayer that he would not pick another dock to land on, or pass us by. That bird never disappointed us.

    Thanks for reminding me of this, and for sharing your heron stories with us! Beautiful…..

    Diane

  4. This is a wonderful website. Many thanks for your “Heron” observations. They are truly beautiful birds…
    Best, Karen

  5. Hi Susan,

    My mother believed and so do I, in the spirit connection between man and all of nature. My family has the same history with Mourning Doves.

    When we are open to recieve and believe there is much waiting to be shared with us.

    This blog is just awesome!

    Hugs for your day.

    Bea Kunz

  6. I love this story. Thank you for sharing your memories with us.

    Blessings to you,
    Debbie Dreyer

  7. Diane,
    I have such a beautiful image in my head from your wistful rememberence. Thank you sooo much for sharing!

    Karen,
    So glad you took a moment to stop by. I love blogging about anything creative…and I feel I am always creating my life and learning how others create theirs.

    Bea,
    I would love to hear more about the Morning Doves! What a beautiful story that must be…yes, believing allows us to receive…

    Debbie,
    Thank you for your kind words. I enjoyed visiting your site.


Leave a Reply

Categories

