Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | September 24, 2008

Making Salsa

What to do with all of the lovely heriloom tomatoes from our CSA?  Well, yes, I froze some of them:)  But making the salsa from the Moosewood Cookbook was on my agenda today!

Many of you have been asking for the “how-to”.  So, here is the tomato prep update (this is also what I do before puree-ing and freezing and the tomatoes…thank you Cathy F!)  Set water to boil.  Wash tomatoes thouroughly and cut out stems.  Put tomatoes into a wire-mesh basket (I have a stainless steal stock pot with a nesting colendar).  Dip tomatoes into boiling water for about 10-30 seconds (depending on size).  Peel off skins and remove seeds.

When freezing the tomatoes, I put them in the blender seeds and all.  Then place them into plasitc containers or freezer bags. These I do in meal size proportions to use in soups and stews over the winter months.  The tomatoes will get very watery.  A bit of salt in each bag can also be used.

Moosewood Salsa: (p. 96) Tomato Salsa:

3 medium sized ripe tomatoes (prepared as above)
2 scallions, finely minced
2 medium coloves garlic, minced
a handful of parsley, finely minced
a handful of cilantro, finely minced
1 tsp. lightly toasted cumin seeds
3/4 to 1 tsp salt
1Tbs. cider vinegar
1 Tbs. olive oil
1. Tbs. fresh lime juice
crushed pepper to taste.
PS  I purchase organic herbs from Bea Kunz…she has sent me the cilantro and parsley with orders I have purchased!

Enjoy!

Pass along your favorite salsa recipe:)

Responses

  1. I don’t really have a recipe, I just throw things together and they turn out great tasting. I learned that (throwing things together) from my Grandmother and Mother.

    Mango or Peach Salsa

    6-10 Mangos or Peaches
    6-10 med. size tomatoes
    1-chopped onion
    2-3- garlic cloves
    1-bunch of cilantro
    Parsley
    1-Tbs. lemon juice
    Dash of salt & pepper

    I will have to order my cilantro and parsley from Bea from now on 🙂

  2. I forgot to put in salt when making homemade salsa. Now what? Will it still be good.

  3. Hi Judy…sure:) you can add it later, if you need it. It is just for a bit of extra taste.

    Susan


Leave a Reply

Categories

