Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | October 13, 2008

Simile to Metaphor

Word play:  Write a simile (comparing two things using like or as).  Change it to a metaphor by removing the words like or as.  Enjoy the beauty you create with words!

Similes

 1.  The ship looked like a bright, white smile on the still water.

2.  The room was as foggy like sweat on a boxer running down in rivulets from the window panes.

3.  The trees were lit like a fire in the evening sunlight.

4.  The mountain was like a corpse shrouded in a foggy veil.

5.  The weaving looked like it was breathing, undulating in the still air.

6. The light below the yellow leaves looked like the glow from a candle flame.

 Metaphors

1.  The ship was a bright smile on the still, dark water.

2.  The fog in the room was sweaty, running down the window pane of glass skin.

3.  The trees were fire in the evening sunlight.

4.  The mountain was a corpse, shrouded in a foggy veil.

5.  The weaving was breathing, undulating in the still air.

6.  The light below the yellow leaves was a glow of candle flame.

Just added a Mr. Linky!  Click on the icon below and add your name and link to the mix.  Then, share a metaphor in the comments.

Enjoy!


Responses

  1. It is true – a nice simile becomes a poetic metaphor. I taught this to a young boy a couple of months ago, but I have just realized I missed something that he may have enjoyed. I have learned something new! I hope I remember it for the next lesson! I can only hope with my memory these days!

  2. It is true, a very well written simile becomes a very poetic metaphor. I taught metaphors and similes a couple of months ago, but your example points out something very important that I missed, and I think he may have enjoyed. I have just learned something new, let’s hope I remember for the next time. I can only hope, with my memory these days!

  3. Wonderful! Always great to connect wtih something new…or from a different angle!

  4. Thanks for clarifying this for me. I’ve never taken the time to nail it down.


Leave a Reply

Categories

