Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | November 25, 2008

Changes….integration…dance

 Gustav Klimt: The three ages of woman (1905)

I have an idea…
This image by Klimt shows what we may see when we look at women.  From the outside, you may think you can read the emotions.  But what is happening on the inside?  What are women thinking about emotionally?  What are the dreams, worries, frustrations, wonderings…?

I am in my own head a lot…well, everyday.  I think that others can read my thoughts.  Why do I think this? Then, I think that I am completely alone…no one could possibly understand.  But every woman has an understanding of every other woman….or at least the emotions are similar. Or the journeys are similar.  This is what I have been thinking on for a while now.  That cord that connects us all…the cycles…

So, my idea is to create a dance.  A dance of my journey through womanhood.  What people see from the outside.   What I want them to see…and what is really going on.  I believe dance to be the way to express this.  Pure emotion, feeling and movement.  I am going to ask a friend to help me with this idea. 

I will keep you posted.

How do you share your emotions?

Responses

  1. Wow, this is a painting from 1905. It has such a modern feel to me. I’ve never seen it before, but I am really taken into it.

    As for sharing emotions, I write…and write…and write some more. And then I do a read aloud to an interested party.

    Or I trace my hand on a huge piece of paper, sometimes many versions of my hand, and fill in the spaces with lots of color and then post them on the frig. That usually brings about a conversation, too.

  2. Hi Bo,
    Yes..this is one of my favorites. I, like you, am really drawn to this idea and image.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I think I might try the “hand” tracing/coloring. That sounds thought provoking!
    Susan

  3. What a lovely thoughtful post Susan.
    I suppose I share through my art, I love to share in creative work with other women too, My sewing group is great for that, I feel really lucky to have it.
    Hope you and your family are well and that you are keeping your toes nice and warm by the fire!
    Cx

  4. You surely do share your wonderful imagination with the world. I love to look at your drawings and have an image in my mind of your bear with the girl….lovely work.

    How wonderful to have a sewing group. A while back I facilitated a weekly workshop I called Art for your Spirit. It went on for 3 years and I made many wonderful friends…think I will give some of them a call.

    Off to visit your site!
    Susan

  5. Susan, what a lovely idea to share a woman’s journey of life through emotional movement. I will be waiting for your creation!

    Bo–I love the idea of using hand tracings as a conversation starter. I would like to use this idea as an introductory activity in one of my early childhood courses. Adult hands (especially women’s!) are a big part of a young child’s world. Women’s hands can be a conduit of deep emotions and movement for young children.


Leave a Reply

Categories

