Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | February 9, 2009

Ten Zen Seconds-Eric Maisel

  click on image for Ten Zen Seconds, Eric Maisel

My dear friend Claudia of Seeing Clearly, reminded me in my last post that “mindfulness is key”.  I am dedicating this post to Claudia.

Above is a slideshow from Eric Maisel’s Centering Sequence, Ten Zen Seconds.  Use this when life becomes overwhelming, your mind is racing, you need to center before a performance…anytime you need to be centered and focused.

Mindfulness Quote by Thich Nhat Hanh

“While washing the dishes one should only be washing the dishes, which means one should be completely aware of the fact that one is washing the dishes. At first glance that might seem a little silly. Why put so much stress on a simple thing? But that’s precisely the point. The fact that I am standing there and washing these bowls is a wondrous reality. I am completely myself, following my breath, conscious of my presence, and conscious of my thoughts and actions. There’s no way I can be tossed around mindlessly like a bottle slapped here and there on the waves.”
— The Miracle of Mindfulness, Thich Nhat Hanh

 

 

Responses

  1. I once had tea with Thich Nhat Hanh. He was on break during a day of mindful walking (walking meditation) here in Northern California. I had interviewed him for a front page article (Marin Independent Journal. We talked briefly about the value of finding the jewels within one’s own spiritual or religious tradition.
    In his presence, all felt easy and simple!
    Best,Karen

  2. hey, what a maroon I am! thanks for mindfulness post. as usual you have delicious things on your blog! your coaching thing sounds fabulous, susan.
    also thanks for wordless Wednesday. I loved that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

