Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | April 10, 2011

Conscious Dreaming

“I dream of murky water.  I feel pulled into the suffocating depths.  I feel heavy and melancholy.  I dream of clear, sparkling water.  I feel pulled to the cleansing , gorgeous clarity.  I feel light, shining and new…. awake and ALIVE!”~Susan Loughrin

Conscious Dreaming: Noticing how my dreams reflect my emotions
©2011 Susan Loughrin

I recently had an event that threatened to pull me back into the mire of self-doubt and sabotage.

What to do?  Part of me wanted to go back and wallow in the “I’ve been wronged!” mode.  But the new, bigger part of me (the part I am consciously working on) was a louder voice saying, “Look at all that you have accomplished!  Look how you are connecting with others!  Look at what the future holds if you keep moving forward!”

I listened to that positive voice.

I coached myself by then paraphrasing what had happened.  I listened to my own words.  I saw what I was doing.  Here is what I saw and felt:

  • I saw my upset-my emotional state
  • I acknowledged the feelings-I have felt this in other situations
  • I let the emotions vent out…”I’ve been wronged!  This always happens to me!  Why do others always take what is mine?”
  • I heard the little child in my voice. I calmed her down and told her it was OK to feel that way….and now, what would we do about it?
  • I looked at the situation.  I looked at where my life has come thus far (with hard work and wonderful coaching help from others!)
  • I saw that I have many more projects and ideas that are bubbling up as possibilities
  • I saw that moving forward with the help and support of others will pull me out of these negative emotions and help me to look forward.

WOW!  This continues to be a new way of solving problems for me.

I am still working on it.  I will tell you that the pull of negative emotions is still strong…but the positive direction I am seeking is becoming stronger.  Louder.  Happier.

As I wrote this article, I was reminded of the dreams I continue to experience over time.  Dreams of water (emotion to me).  Sometimes, the water is dark and murky and other times, the water clear and luminous.  I see how these dreams connect to my waking, conscious life, even though I am not always aware of the meaning at the time of the dream.  This is a gift that I accept and cherish.

My dreams are helping me to work through my waking life.  It takes a while to look at all of the levels.  But the beauty and wonder of the conscious dreaming connection is glorious!

“I dream of murky water.  I feel pulled into the suffocating depths.  I feel heavy and melancholy.  I dream of clear, sparkling water.  I feel pulled to the cleansing , gorgeous clarity.  I feel light, shining and new…. awake and ALIVE!”~Susan Loughrin

Susan Loughrin is an Arts Consultant and Creativity Coach.  She helps others see the joy and creativity in their every day lives.  Her monthly e-zine, Inner~Creative~Voice Newsletter,  brings inspiration through creativity ideas and activities that can be implemented every day. If you are ready to learn how to bring creativity and wonder into your daily life, you can sign up for a F.R.E.E. subscription at http://eepurl.com/C8RH

Responses

  1. Dear Susan,
    That is wonderful that you are attune to recognizing your dreams, and how they reflect your emotions, as that is a very big part of the brain that automatically connects our day to day with the energizing period of the rest where it works out what it needs to for the higher good.
    I have always acknowledged my dreams too, and because of that they have enabled me to resolve many issues in the waking hour during sleep.
    That is nice to know that you are feeling lighter about the pull of negative emotions. Sometimes they are needed to test us for what we truly are. It does help to recognize when they appear and the benefits that they bring to us. Each negative experience has a hidden lesson for us.
    I’m also happy that your dreams are helping you through your waking life, and that you are able to use them as that tool.
    Wonderful to return to your blog, and hear of your experiences.
    Keep shining o beautiful one. 🙂
    Love and light from Ana

    • Yes….thinking on being tested by negative experiences. This is very true with what has been going on in my dreams. I always want to experience the positive…but know that when the dreams are dark and seem scary, there is usually something happening in my waking life that needs attention.
      Love your comments!

  2. Wonderful. When you can stay aware of what is happening, the solution makes so much sense. It’s all about hard work, much of the time. Oh well, whats a little more hard work, hmm? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

