Posted by: Inner~Creative~Voice | April 18, 2011

Dream Captures

Dream of my son with colorful, delightful, images drawn on his back

I have been continuing to capture images and colors from my dreams.  There is SO much that goes on…so much imagination…that I am often exhausted from all of the dreaming!  Due to the non-linear structure of dreams, I find most often it is best to just ride them out, and pull meaning from significant images recalled.

Upon awakening, I write out everything I remember from my dreams.  I then go through each dream and circle the words that seem to have significance.

 Then, I choose one and do a simple drawing…just to capture the essence of the image, colors or feeling from the dream.

Recently, I have found I like to draw using markers as the outline of the image and crayon to color them in.  This reminds me of childhood, which is good, because that was when I was the most open-minded.  The markers give definition to the images and the crayons give the softness that is a part of my dream’s texture.

Why do this? Why capture my dreams?

I have found that creating a journal that captures my dreams allows me to look back later and see how significant images/feelings/ideas show up in my waking life.  Sometimes it is immediate, but at times it may be years later! Last night…I dreamed of a beautiful brown fur coat and over it I put a stunning red fur cape!  As I looked in the mirror, I said aloud in the dream, “Now, all I need is a pair of shining red patent leather boots!”  Think there is anything significant in this dream, hmmmm?

What did you dream last night?

Susan Loughrin is an Arts Consultant and Creativity Coach.  She helps others see the joy and creativity in their every day lives.  Her monthly e-zine, Inner~Creative~Voice Newsletter,  brings inspiration through creativity ideas and activities that can be implemented every day. If you are ready to learn how to bring creativity and wonder into your daily life, you can sign up for a F.R.E.E. subscription at http://eepurl.com/C8RH

Responses

  1. An art journal-dream journal! I’ve never considered combining my words about dreams with drawings, but it’s a great idea.

    Last night I dreamed i was on talking on the phone with a person who was very important and I kept getting disconnected or odd voices and noises kept interrupting the conversation. The dream ended with frustration that I couldn’t find the phone number OR the phone so I could call back.

    Not a very deep dream, is it? 🙂

    • Hi Bo,
      Love your dream! Thanks for sharing…actually seems deep to me…what does it mean to you? I would love to know!

      I am having such fun over the years looking back at the dream images…some of them I have created in a larger form… and one hangs on my bedroom wall! A very empowering dream that is supporting my life right now:)
      s

      • I meant it doesn;t seem difficult to interpret–that I was having problems communicating with the person in real life. It seems that most of the dreams I remember are of the pretty basic variety. I;ve always wondered why. Or if I’m thinking about them all wrong…and there is more than I easily see.

  2. This is so interesting and such a great idea and your drawings capture so much, I love visuals with this little story, you should expand on your dreams for short stories!
    Thanks this was fun!
    Cheri M CED

    • Hi Cheri,
      It is so interesting to me to see the images here on my blog…famous in my own mind:) Hee hee! I have found the creativity and imagery in my dreams lends itself to so much creative expression…music, dance, visual art…DRAMA!

      Thanks for stopping by:) LOVE your jewelry!

  3. Love looking at these images:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

